In the wake of the Silverstone weekend, the Formula Renault Eurocup heads to Pau for the third meeting of the season. Nicknamed the “little Monaco”, the urban track will be an all-new experience for many of the competitors. The streets of the southern French city will serve as a big test before taking on the Monaco circuit the following week.

Luis and Formula Renault Eurocup will head to the Pau street circuit

Since 1933, the city of Pau has hosted motor racing legends from Tazio Nuvolari to Juan Manuel Fangio, Alberto Ascari, Jim Clark, Jochen Rindt, François Cevert, Patrick Depaillier, René Arnoux, Juan Pablo Montoya and Lewis Hamilton…

Not to be outdone, Formula Renault raced on this legendary circuit in the form of the Eurocup from 1973 to 1977! Jean Ragnotti, Didier Pironi, Romain Grosjean, Albert Costa, Nyck de Vries and Anthoine Hubert are among the names of winners in Formula Renault at Pau…While not overlooking the success of Luca Ghiotto in 2013 !

Who will stop them?

Since the start of the season, R-ace GP has made the top step of the podium its own. Leader in the general classification, Will Palmer will look to extend his lead relying on experience gained last year in Monaco, but Robert Schwartzman will do the same to potentially wrestle away the championship lead from his team mate.

After breaking their respective ducks in Great Britain, Luis Leeds (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Presley Martono (Mark Burdett Motorsport) will be out for more, while Alexander Vartanyan (JD Motorsport) will look to return to the top ten.

Luis Leeds is seen competing at Silverstone

Renault Sport Academy members, Sun Yue Yang (JD Motorsport) and Jarno Opmeer (MP Motorsport) will try to imitate the strong runs of Max Fewtrell by trying to acclimate themselves as quickly as possible to the street circuits to score their first points.


Friday May 19 2017
09:15 – 09:55 Collective test 1
14:25 – 15:05 Collective test 2

Saturday May 20 2017
08:24 – 08:39 Qualifying 1 (Group A)
08:44 – 08:59 Qualifying 1 (Group B)
17:47 – 18:14 Race 1

Sunday May 21 2017
08:57 – 09:12 Qualifying 2 (Group B)
09:17 – 09:32 Qualifying 2 (Group A)
17:10 – 17:37 Race 2